Old Roger: the New Way


Artist: The Warleggan Village Band
Format: Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs: 1
Release Date: 02-08-2021
Genres: Classical, Folk
Label: Blast Records
Barcode: 0604565504005
Packaging: 4-panel gatefold digisleeve
Catalog Number: BFTP017



The Warleggan Village Band was formed to play on screen for the BBC television series Poldark. Since the series was first broadcast, they recorded the CD Haste to the Dance, and have played for numerous dances including wildly successful annual weekends at Halsway Manor, the National Centre for Folk Arts, with Poldark’s original dancing master Stuart Marsden. It was during one Halsway weekend that the idea for this recording was formed. The first music the band knew that they wanted to include were two gigues from Handel’s Water Music, first performed in 1717. These had been choreographed by Stuart for Poldark. Matthew then set to work delving into publications held in the British Library to find English country dances from the same time.

Almost all of the tunes chosen for this recording appear in The Dancing-Master: Vol. the Second or Directions for Dancing Country Dances with the Tunes to each Dance for the Treble-Violin. The Third Edition, containing 360 of the choicest Old and New Tunes now used at Court and other Publick Places. The whole Work Revised and done on the New-Ty’d-Note, and much more correct than any former. London: Printed by W. Pearson and sold by John Young, Musical-Instrument Maker, at the Dolphin and Crown at the West End of St. Paul’s Church Yard, 1718. John Young was the successor to John and Henry Playford, whose long-running Dancing Master series began in 1651.


1. Next Oars / Windsor Terras / King’s Maggot
2. Salutation / Woodstock Bower
3. Water  Music Gigues / The Virgin’s Frolick / Shropshire Rounds
4. The Queen of Hearts / Water Music Bourrée / Love in a Hop-Yard
5. Albion Queen / Old Roger: the New Way / Mrs. Savage’s Whim
6. Old Tom / Camberwell / Barn Elms
7. Dearest & Fairest
8. St Brides / The Penelope / The Last Disappointment

Also available as digital download via Bandcamp