A Christmas Carol


Artist: GreenMatthews
Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs: 
Release Date:
Blast Records
Packaging: Gatefold digipak
Catalog Number: 

Categories: ,


GreenMatthews’ musical retelling of Dickens’ Yuletide classic 

Using new lyrics and traditional English folk tunes, GreenMatthews (with special guest Jude Rees) use a bewitching blend of voices and instruments to create a musical reimagining of this seasonal favourite.

The album is an hour-long “folk opera” of Dickens’ iconic novella and is presented entirely in narrative song, using brand-new lyrics set to traditional English folk and carol melodies.

The album is the latest in a long line of similar folk operas such as Peter Bellamy’s The Transports, Fairport Convention’s Babbacombe Lee and of course Ewan McColl’s classic Radio Ballads. Lyricist Chris Green says “A Christmas Carol is one of those rare works of literature that has been completely assimilated into the popular consciousness. It’s a tale that has been retold and reinvented by each new generation for the last 170 years, much like a classic folk song – so it seemed a natural progression to retell it using traditional melodies with new words.”

Sophie Matthews: voice, flute, English border bagpipes

Chris Green: voice, guitar, mandocello, piano, accordion, bass, drums

with special guest

Jude Rees: voice, oboe, melodeon

Lyrics by Chris Green. Music trad. arr. Chris Green.


1. Introducing Scrooge
2. The Coming of Marley
3. Marley’s Song
4. After Marley
5. The Ghost of Christmas Past
6. Into Scrooge’s Past
7. Scrooge’s Boyhood
8. Fezziwig’s Ball
9. After the Ball
10. Scrooge’s Sweetheart
11. Scrooge Banishes the First Spirit
12. The Ghost of Christmas Present
13. London at Christmas
14. The Cratchits’ Christmas Dinner
15. The Ghost of Christmas Yet To Come
16. A Funderal
17. Christmas Morning
18. Scrooge’s Change of Heart
19. The Following Morning
20. In Conclusion

Also available as digital download via Bandcamp